The College Park City-University Partnership Board of Directors is comprised of key representatives from the City of College Park, the University of Maryland, Prince George’s County, and the State of Maryland.

Stephen Brayman is the former Mayor of College Park. Mr. Brayman served as mayor from 2001-2009. He counts the city’s improved relationship with state officials, other municipalities and the University of Maryland, College Park, among his proudest accomplishments. Prior to his time as mayor, Mr. Brayman served as a Safety and Risk Management Administrator for the city of Rockville, and was the president of the College Park Estates Citizens Association. He received a Bachelor’s in Economics and Master’s in Industrial Technology from the University of Maryland. Mr. Brayman is chair of the Partnership’s Public Safety Committee.


colellaCarlo Colella was named Vice President for Administration and Finance at the University of Maryland in June 2013. As chief business officer, Mr. Colella is responsible for the university’s business operations and 1,352 acre physical environment including nearly 14 million square feet of facilities. The division’s 1,200 staff ensures a safe, well-maintained and clean environment; facilitates planning for the future of the campus and manages construction; manages financial operations and provides business support services; and promotes partnerships with surrounding communities. Mr. Colella is vice-chair for the City-University Partnership.



darmodyBrian Darmody is Associate Vice President for Corporate and Foundation Relations, University of Maryland, and Special Assistant Vice Chancellor for Technology Development, University System of Maryland. Previously, he was the University’s Associate Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the Director of State and Federal Relations in the President’s Office, and served in the University’s legal counsel’s office. He serves on national and state boards, including Fraunhofer USA, the Maryland Venture Authority, and the Technology Council of Maryland, and is past President of the Association of University Research Parks. He holds a Juris Doctor and a baccalaureate degree.


grossMaxine Gross is chairperson of the Lakeland Community Heritage Project and co-authored, “Lakeland: African Americans in College Park (Images of America)” and is a board member of the Embry Center for Family Life. From 1989-1997, she served on the College Park City Council, representing District 2. Ms. Gross has a Bachelor’s of Theater from the University of Maryland, a Master’s of Human Resource Development from Bowie State University, is a City resident, and she currently serves on the City-University Partnership’s Education Committee.



David Iannucci is the Assistant Deputy CAO for Economic Development under Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker, and oversees the activities of three of the County’s organizations and agencies with responsibilities for economic development. Among his primary responsibilities are the pursuit of the FBI consolidated headquarters and a new Regional Medical Center in Largo, and oversight of County Executive’s $50 million Economic Development Incentive Fund. He has had an extensive career in economic development and in various government positions, including serving as Secretary of the Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development (DBED) 1999 to 2003. From 2003 to 2010, David Iannucci served as the Executive Director of the Baltimore County Department of Economic Development. He was Chief Legislative Officer under former Maryland Governor William Donald Schaefer from 1988 to 1993. Mr. Iannucci is a past president of the Maryland Economic Development Association (MEDA) and is a member of the MEDA Hall of Fame. He is a 1979 graduate of the University of Maryland School Of Law and a member of the Maryland Bar, and a 1974 graduate of the University of Maryland, College Park.


maginnisEdward J. Maginnis is the Assistant Vice President for Real Estate at the University of Maryland. His prior post was in the Office of Legal Affairs, serving as general counsel with a concentration for real estate and commercial law. Mr. Maginnis attended The Johns Hopkins University (B.A., 1984) and The American University Washington College of Law (J.D., cum laude, 1988). Prior to joining the University of Maryland, Mr. Maginnis worked for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. In private practice, Mr. Maginnis’ practice areas included real estate, leasing, public finance, bankruptcy, adult guardianship and commercial litigation. Mr. Maginnis serves as treasurer for the Partnership.


Sen. James C. Rosapepe is a member of the Maryland State Senate, representing District 21 and serving as Deputy Majority Whip. First elected to the chamber in 2006, Rosapepe currently sits on the Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee. From 2001 to 2006 he served on the Board of Regents for the University System of Maryland. In 1997 Senator Rosapepe was tapped by President Bill Clinton to be a U.S. Ambassador to Romania. Sen. Rosapepe is the former chair of the City-University Partnership, and is a resident of College Park.



Ken Ulman is President of Margrave Strategies, an innovative strategic consulting firm that provides a comprehensive array of economic development, planning and visioning services to institutions, businesses and other groups throughout Maryland and the mid¬Atlantic. The firm’s principal client is the University of Maryland College Park Foundation, where Ulman serves as Chief Strategy Officer for Economic Development, and as President of the Terrapin Development Company, LLC. Ulman previously served two terms as Howard County Executive. Ulman has won numerous awards, and was named a Tech Titan by Washingtonian Magazine, a Top 25 Doer, Dreamer and Driver by Government Technology Magazine and a Regional Visionary by the Greater Baltimore Committee. Mr. Ulman served as president of the Maryland Association of Counties and as chairman of the Baltimore Metropolitan Council. He lives in Columbia, with his wife, Jaki (also a proud Terp), and their daughters Maddie and Lily.


image002Richard Wagner, AIA, PhD is a principal with the architectural firm of David H. Gleason Associates, Inc., Baltimore, where he specializes in historic preservation and rehabilitation projects, and creating design guidelines for historic areas. He founded the nation’s first on-line graduate program in historic preservation at Goucher College in 1996 and served as its director until spring 2016. He currently holds an appointment as Research professor in Historic Preservation at The George Washington University. Mr. Wagner is also a member of the Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation. He was the founding chair of College Park City-University Partnership and currently serves as a member of the Board. He resides in College Park. Mr. Wagner is the current chair of the Partnership.


Hon. Patrick Wojahn is the Mayor of College Park and an advocate for trails and safe bicycle and pedestrian networks as Director of Government Relations at Rails-to-Trails Conservancy. Previously, Patrick worked as a policy and legal advocate for the rights of people with disabilities and for people living with HIV/AIDS in the DC metro area. Patrick has served in various leadership roles in the past, including as Chair of the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board and as chair of the National League of Cities Transportation and Infrastructure Service Policy Committee. He was a founding member of the Board for the College Park Community Foundation and served on the Boards of Directors of the College Park Community Food Bank and Equality Maryland.


Pin It on Pinterest