The College Park City-University Partnership, working in collaboration with the College Park Arts Exchange, the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, the University of Maryland’s School of Music, and the City of College Park, is developing a weekly outdoor performance series that supports the vision of a sustainable, walkable, vibrant top-20 college town.

Local musicians and visual arts performers will participate in weekly outdoor performances Mondays and Fridays between April 3, 2017 and May 29, 2017. Our goal is to enhance public spaces in College Park with art and music, bring the community together, articulate the area’s history, and give cultural context to new development. (Are you an artist? Sign up here.)

Northgate Park (8120 Baltimore Ave south of Varsity/View) – Mondays between 5:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.
This site sits at the intersection of campus and community. With more research and innovation space coming to this area, it is important to create more energy and excitement that people can see along Baltimore Avenue. The more people are out, enjoying themselves, in that area, the more people will want to be there and the more “buzz” it creates.

Little Tavern Park (7413 Baltimore Avenue)– Fridays between 6:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.
Located in the heart of downtown College Park, this site offers both students and community members living just south and west of the university the opportunity to participate in unique programming. In addition, this site hosts food trucks, and is a cool, hip, funky space.

NOTE: All performances are subject to weather conditions.

PERFORMANCE SCHEDULE
Northgate Park Performances
Monday, April 3 at 5:30 p.m. – Unity Module
Monday, April 10 at 5:30 p.m. – Rescheduled
Monday, April 17 at 5:30 p.m. – 5 on Friday
Monday, April 24 at 5:30 p.m. – UMD School of Music Viola Group
Monday, May 1 at 5:30 p.m. – Shanna Lim
Monday, May 8 at 5:30 p.m. – Guitarist Charlie O’Melia
Monday, May 15 at 5:30 p.m. – College Park Chamber Singers
Wednesday, May 17 at 5:30 p.m. – Maryland Monteverdi Society
Monday, May 22 at 5:30 p.m. – Carolyn Worden
Monday, May 29 at 5:30 p.m. – UMD School of Music Brass Quintet

Little Tavern Park Performances
Friday, April 7 at 6:00 p.m. – Rescheduled
Friday, April 14 at 6:00 p.m. – The Magic Mallets & CPA’s Destiny Moonfire (Anime Art)
Friday, April 21 at 6:00 p.m. – Dominic Elliot
Friday, April 28 at 6:00 p.m. – College Park Youth Orchestra
Friday, May 5 at 5:00 p.m. – UMD Viola Ensemble
Friday, May 12 at 6:00 p.m. – Laundry World
Friday, May 19 at 6:00 p.m. – Secret Annika
Friday, May 26 at 6:00 p.m. – The Dance Institute of Washington

Outdoor Performance Series

Pin It on Pinterest

X
Share This